top of page

What Our Kids Did This Week... in August

This post has been saved in our drafts since August...oops! Still funny nonetheless We have been really lazy lately but we promise to blog more x


 

Here we are again, bringing you the goofy things our kids said or did!


TF6 is class that Alex and I both share and adore. It has to middle school boys who are absolute goofs. We both teach them debate and last month I've been drilling into their heads to use another type of support other than examples (so like statistics, expert opinion - ANYTHING!) even if it's made up. So, recently for one debate class they came up with Dr. Tom's (the name of one of the boys) statistic that 100% of patients said they feel happier when making friends online. Dr. Tom made a reappearance during Alex's class when the debate topic was about teenage plastic surgery. Dr. Tom was now a criminal of the black market, using only glue on the "silicone people". Absolute goofs, I tell ya.


One of my favourite classes is a single Kindergartener, named Moon Young, that I teach phonics to. It's a very fun and easy class! Whenever I mark Moon Young's work, I always ask her what colour I should mark it in and what I should draw (instead of a boring circle). She usually says cute things like: heart!, star!, happy face! But she recently just learnt the word "cloudy" and now looooooves it when I draw clouds all over her homework. I adore this class as she is really improving quite quickly and can now independently read the stories!


Another one of my favourite classes is a class full of 12/13 year old girls. They can be quite chatty but their level of English is pretty high (they're studying for the TOEFL test) so I can joke around with them and tell them anecdotes. On Thursday's class we were writing opinion essays on if it's better to travel with a tour guide or not, which led to us talking about our experiences. A lot of them have had funny old men that would fart on long car rides. One girl even mentioned that one time on a tour bus in NYC her stomach hurt so badly that she had her friends cover her while she pooped in a plastic bag... Now I can tell that the class is TOO comfortable with me, hahahaha!


Thursdays are my favourite days as they have Moon Young, those chatty TOEFL girls and my Alpha class. My Alpha class consists of 3 very energetic 11/12 year old girls and 2 boys. They always say the most ridiculous things and have finally started to like writing and presenting speeches. In one class, we brainstormed about which jobs should be replaced by robots. This resulted in them now calling me Mr. RJ, like Robot Julia, because I told them my tattoo was where I charged my batteries at night. Anyways, one of the jobs we listed were soldiers. When I asked why, the boys said the obvious answer: so innocent people can stop dying. But the girls all agreed on another answer: so that we can make them handsome robot soldiers and Korean dramas can be made about them. OF COURSE! Why didn't I think about that?


One of my classes just recently got new students (New Hi, Kids! 3) and it can be a little hard to control 11 of them once they start laughing. This week's lesson didn't help with that case. Here's the short of it: our new unit is about houses, furniture and rooms. The activity was to cross out furniture that didn't belong in rooms. They totally lost it when they saw a photo of a bed in the bathroom and a phone attached to the toilet. They went mad and I couldn't help but laugh along.

 

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page